StoryComp

StoryComp

Storytelling competences for adult educators in basic education and political education

The StoryComp project develops a comprehensive, sequential blended learning approach with the aim of systematically establishing storytelling as a method in two areas of adult education: basic education and political education/education on active citizenship.

Storytelling is one of the oldest forms of education: Through stories, people have always shared their experiences, observations, insights, cultural beliefs, traditions, history. What is quite normal and entertaining around the campfire is still far too little used in adult education with its potential. We know not only from everyday experience, but also scientifically confirmed, e.g. by the neurobiologist Gerald Hüther, how important the emotional level is for remembering: “Everything that gets under the skin is inevitably better stored” (Reference) But this is not the only reason why contents that are conveyed through stories are easier to remember: “Pure information can only be linked to a limited extent. But if you package it into a story, you provide many points of reference to already existing memory content” (ibidem).
Adult education can and should take advantage of this – and there the StoryComp project comes in. For this project, a European partnership of seven countries with experts in the relevant fields has come together to produce the following materials:

  1. Methodological framework
    … as a basis for the StoryComp concept, which aims at providing self-directed training opportunities for adult educators in storytelling as a creative method for promoting competence acquisition among adult learners in basic education and education on active citizenship.
  2. Online course and platform
    … as the “heart” of the project and a prerequisite for adult educators to be able to fundamentally acquire the method of storytelling with the online course and to have the necessary resources for its implementation and application in practice (European collection of suitable stories, video tutorials on techniques and methods, instructions for storytelling workshops, etc.). The platform will also provide the possibility of a virtual storytelling community where adult educators can network with others, share experiences and discuss.
  3. Guidance for storytelling workshops with adult educators
    … as a practice-oriented, modular and thus directly and flexibly applicable guideline with the aim to motivate and guide adult educators to practice and improve their storytelling skills together with colleagues in workshops.

All products of the project will be available as open educational resources on the StoryComp platform, freely usable and modifiable.

The target groups of the project, which also will be directly involved in the development and implementation of the project in all partner countries, are adult educators in the field of basic education and in the field of education on active citizenship and political education. In addition, the project is aimed at people with responsibility for the further development of educational concepts of the institutions and for the further training of adult educators, too.

 

Download Storycomp Infographic

Thoughts on the potential of storytelling in relation to learning motivation in adult education: Stories as the key to the target group? Read more on EPALE.

 

StoryComp – Storytelling competences for adult educators in basic education and political education

Funding programm: Erasmus+
Project number: 2020-1-DE02-KA204-007574
Theme: Storytelling, Active citizenship/Political education, Basic skills and competences
Project periodm: 01.11.2020 – 31.10.2022
Website of the project:

Projekt partners:

    • Stadt Leipzig Volkshochschule, Germany (coordinator)
    • CVO VOLT, Belgium
    • Die Wiener Volkshochschulen, Austria
    • Fabula Storytelling, Sweden
    • LU Jesenice, Slovenia
    • PLATO, Netherlands
    • Pistes Solidaires, France
In order to optimize our website for you and to be able to continuously improve it, we use cookies. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. Further information on cookies can be found in our privacy policy.

StoryComp

StoryComp

Kompetenzen im Storytelling für Erwachsenenbildner:innen in der Grundbildung und in der politischen Bildung

Das Projekt StoryComp entwickelt einen umfassenden, aufeinander aufbauenden Blended-Learning-Ansatz mit dem Ziel, Storytelling als Methode in zwei Bereichen der Erwachsenenbildung systematisch zu etablieren: in der Grundbildung und in der politischen Bildung.

Geschichtenerzählen ist eine der ältesten Formen der Bildung: Durch Geschichten haben Menschen seit jeher ihre Erfahrungen, Beobachtungen, Erkenntnisse, ihre Geschichte, ihre kulturellen Überzeugungen und Traditionen mitgeteilt. Was am Lagerfeuer ganz normal und unterhaltsam ist, wird in der Erwachsenenbildung noch viel zu wenig mit seinem Potenzial genutzt. Dabei wissen wir nicht nur aus der Alltagserfahrung, sondern auch wissenschaftlich bestätigt, z.B. durch den Neurobiologen Gerald Hüther, wie wichtig die emotionale Ebene für das Erinnern ist: ” Alles, was unter die Haut geht, wird zwangsläufig besser abgespeichert.” (Quelle) Doch das ist nicht der einzige Grund, warum Inhalte, die durch Geschichten vermittelt werden, leichter zu merken sind: “Reine Information ist nur limitiert anknüpfbar. Wenn Sie sie aber in eine Geschichte verpacken, liefern Sie in deren Rahmen viele Anknüpfungspunkte an bereits vorhandene Gedächtnisinhalte.” (ebd.)

Die Erwachsenenbildung kann und sollte sich dies zunutze machen – und hier setzt das Projekt StoryComp an. Für dieses Projekt hat sich eine europäische Partnerschaft aus sieben Ländern mit Expert:innen auf den entsprechenden Gebieten zusammengefunden, um die folgenden Materialien zu erstellen:

1. Der Methodische Rahmen
.. als Grundlage für das StoryComp-Konzept, das darauf abzielt, selbstgesteuerte Trainingsmöglichkeiten für Erwachsenenbildner:innen für Storytelling anzubieten als kreative Methode zur Förderung des Kompetenzerwerbs bei erwachsenen Lernenden in der Grundbildung und in der politischen Bildung.
2. Die Online-Plattform
… als “Herzstück” des Projekts und Voraussetzung dafür, dass sich Erwachsenenbildner:innen mit dem dort kostenfrei verfügbaren Online-Kurs die Methode des Geschichtenerzählens grundlegend aneignen können und über die notwendigen Ressourcen für ihre Umsetzung und Anwendung in der Praxis verfügen (europäische Sammlung geeigneter Geschichten, Video-Tutorials zu Techniken und Methoden, Anleitungen für Storytelling-Workshops, etc.) Die Plattform wird auch die Möglichkeit einer virtuellen Storytelling-Gemeinschaft bieten, in der sich Erwachsenenbildner:innen mit anderen vernetzen, Erfahrungen austauschen und diskutieren können.

3. Eine Anleitung für Storytelling-Workshops mit Erwachsenenbildner:innen
… als praxisorientierter, modular aufgebauterer und damit direkt und flexibel einsetzbarer Leitfaden mit dem Ziel, Erwachsenenbildner:innen zu motivieren und anzuleiten, ihre Storytelling-Fähigkeiten gemeinsam mit Kolleg:innen in Workshops zu trainieren, zu vertiefen und zu verbessern.

Alle Produkte des Projekts werden als offene Bildungsressourcen auf der StoryComp-Plattform verfügbar, frei nutzbar und veränderbar sein.

Die Zielgruppen des Projekts, die in allen Partnerländern auch direkt an der Entwicklung und Umsetzung des Projekts beteiligt sein werden, sind Erwachsenenbildner:innen im Bereich der Grundbildung und der politischen Bildung. Darüber hinaus richtet sich das Projekt auch an Personen, die für die Weiterentwicklung von Bildungskonzepten der Einrichtungen und für die Weiterbildung von Lehrende in der Erwachsenenbildung verantwortlich sind.

Weitere Informationen

Download Storycomp-Infografik

Welches Potential hat Storytelling in Bezug auf die Motivation der Lernenden in der Erwachsenenbildung, konkret z.B. in der Grundbildung? – Link zum EPALE-Artikel: Geschichten als Schlüssel zur Zielgruppe?

 

StoryComp – Storytelling competences for adult educators in basic education and political education

Förderprogramm: Erasmus+
Projektnummer: 2020-1-DE02-KA204-007574
Themenbereich: Storytelling, Politische Bildung, Grundbildung
Projektzeitraum: 01.11.2020 – 31.10.2022
Webseite zum Projekt: https://storycomp.eu/

Projektpartner:

  • Stadt Leipzig Volkshochschule, Deutschland (Koordinator)
  • CVO VOLT, Belgien
  • Die Wiener Volkshochschulen, Österreich
  • Fabula Storytelling, Schweden
  • LU Jesenice, Slowenien
  • PLATO, Niederlande
  • Pistes Solidaires, Frankreich
Um unsere Webseite für Sie optimal zu gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern zu können, verwenden wir Cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Weitere Informationen zu Cookies erhalten Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.